Climbing the Ladder: A Phase of my Journey in the .NET Ecosystem

ยท

2 min read

Technologies and tools become outdated, updated or entirely replaced due to the need for improvement, speed, performance or anything that helps increases productivity or problem-solving within a finite time

Because of the ever-changing needs of customers, the life of a software developer involves a never-ending journey of learning and improvement, which requires a regular evaluation of skillsets, to stay relevant in the job market.

To keep developing and improving my skillset, I recently enrolled in the EGabriel Bootcamp, which focuses solely on using C# for the backend implementation of API services, messaging services, generic repositories and architectures, LINQ, and a host of other backend services, technologies, and tools.

My Goals for the Bootcamp

Taking on the EGabriel BootCamp to improve my skills in the dotnet ecosystem, below are some of my goals for embarking on this bootcamp:

  • Improve my web development skills ( Majorly in API development, Backend Architecture and Microservices )

  • Guidelines and best practices when building Enterprise based applications

  • Improve my general knowledge of the dotnet ecosystem

  • A little DevOps (Docker and Kubernetes and other related technologies) and deployment

  • Networking

Plans for the achieving goals

"Without goals and plans to reach them, you are like a ship that has set sail with no destination." - Fitzhugh Dodson

Plans are necessary for goals achievement, hence below are my plans for achieving the above-set goals

  • Understanding the fundamentals

  • Dedicate at least 7-8 hours weekly for learning and coding practicing

  • Review of codebase on GitHub and other related platforms

  • Try, if doesn't work, research. If it still doesn't work, ask fellow participants or mentors. It's all about the mindset building

  • Being open-minded towards feedback and being willing to learn new things from both participants and mentors

  • Keep track of my weekly progress, by setting weekly goals and following up

  • Have coffee chats ๐Ÿ˜Š

Conclusion

Developing one's skill set in software development may be a difficult but worthwhile endeavor. It necessitates a strong dedication to ongoing education, training, and introspection. To keep up with my progress in this phase of my software development journey, follow me, and you'll learn something new!

ย